Bay Area Counties Need To Do 3 Things Before They Can Lift The Mask Mandate

Photo: Getty Images

Officials announced on Thursday that Bay Area counties may lift the mask mandate as long as they meet the following criteria:

  • The county must stay in the yellow tier (according to CDC guidelines) for at least three weeks
  • COVID hospitalizations must stay low and stable
  • 80% of the population must be fully vaccinated with either one dose of Johnson & Johnson or two doses of Moderna or Pfizer. (Source: ABC 7)

Additionally, if the vaccine gets emergency authorization, eight weeks must pass after 5-11 year olds are able to receive their shots.

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara and Sonoma counties, as well as the City of Berkeley will be able to lift the mask mandate in their jurisdiction as long as they meet all of the above requirements.

More information available here.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content